EJN congratulates partners and fellows for their recent media awards

EJN congratulates partners and fellows for their recent media awards

EJN congratulates partners and fellows for their recent media awards

We are pleased to congratulate the following EJN fellows/partners!

Our Arcadia Biodiversity Media Initiative grantee Fabiola Torres Lopez and Ojo Publico have won the Roberto Eisenmann Jr. Environmental Journalism Award for their piece “La carretera que corta el corazon de la Amazonia” (The highway that cuts through the heart of the Amazon).

The award is part of the IAPA (interamerican press association) Excellence in Journalism Awards 2017. CCMP Fellow Giovana Girardi was also recognized for her work on a climate change-focused data journalism story.

Caty Arevalo, one of our biodiversity fellows at the IUCN World Conservation Congress in Hawaii, has just http://www.efeverde.com/noticias/la-periodista-caty-arevalo-premio-bbva-la-conservacion-la-biodiversidad/!

On September 18th, Arevalo won the Fundacion BBVA a la Conservacion de la Biodiversidad en Espana 2017 (BBVA Foundation for the Conservation of Biodiversity in Spain 2017), for her excellent journalism career and its contribution to the spread of awareness and understanding of biodiversity conservation.

The jury highlighted the “exceptional quality and effort” of Arevalo’s work as well as the “excellency of the hundreds of reports” Arevalo analyzed about grave environmental issues.

Our previous Oak Climate Adaptation story grantee, Jafeth Mora, was awarded thehttps://semanariouniversidad.com/universitarias/premios-la-comunicacion-2017-reconocen-trabajos-profesionales-estudiantes-la-ucr/ “Presbitero Armando Alfaro Paniagua” 2017 (University Student Award “Minister Armando Alfaro Paniagua” 2017) for his report “El Tempisque, un gigante que muere en siliencio” (Tempisque River, a giant that dies in silence) published by Seminario Universidad.

These awards follow the recent win by EJN journalist Iván Carrillo Pérez of a prestigious science journalism prize in Mexico. He will be presented with the country’s National Council for Science and Technology (CONACYT) award in December.

By visiting EJN's site, you agree to the use of cookies, which are designed to improve your experience and are used for the purpose of analytics and personalization. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy